Head Coach Tolbert Onyango names Uganda Rugby Sevens team for Hong Kong HSBC Series Qualifiers and Commonwealth games in Gold Coast Australia.


Head Coach Tolbert Onyango names Uganda Rugby Sevens team for Hong Kong HSBC Series Qualifiers and Commonwealth games in Gold Coast Australia .

Uganda Rugby Sevens head coach Tolbert Onyango on Tuesday named the playera that will represent Uganda during the 2018 Hong Kong Seven in Hong Kong and the Common Wealth games.

The Hong Kong Sevens will be played between April 6th and 8th 2018.

The Uganda Rugby 7s were drawn against Japan, Chile and Georgia in Pool E for the HSNC World series qualifiers and in Pool D against  Fiji, Wales together with Sri Lanka for the show down in Austaralia.

The team will depart for Hong Kong on Sunday 1st April 2018 aboard Emirates Airlines and will then depart for Gold Coast on Monday 9th April 2018

Hong Kong Sevens Pools

Main Pools.

Pool A: Fiji, New Zealand, Russia, Samoa

Pool B: Kenya, Australia, Spain, Canada

Pool C: South Africa, England, Scotland, South Korea

Pool D: USA, Argentina, Wales, France


Pool E: Japan, Uganda, Chile, Georgia

Pool F: Papua New Guinea, Germany, Hong Kong, Zimbabwe

Pool G: Ireland, Uruguay, Jamaica, Cook Islands

Common Wealth Games Pools.

Pool A: South Africa, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia

Pool B: England, Australia, Samoa, Jamaica

Pool C: New Zealand, Canada, Kenya, Zambia

Pool D: Fiji, Wales, Uganda, Sri Lanka


Pool A New Zealand, Canada, South Africa, Kenya.

Pool B Australia, Fiji, England, Wales.

Uganda Rugby Cranes Sevens team to Hong Kong and Commonwealth Games.

Micheal Okorach, Phillip Wokorach, Solomon Okia, James Odong, Adrian Kasito, Joseph Aredo, Desire Ayera, Aaron Ofoyrwoth, Lawrence Ssebuliba, Ivan Magomu, Timothy Kisiga, Ogena Pius.

Head Coach: Tolbert Onyango.

Physiotherapist: Benjamin Noah.

Performance Coach:  Ninette Kruyt.

Team Manager: Michael Wandera.

Else where, head coach Innocent Simiyu named Kenya’s two sides to compete at the Hong Kong Sevens, Commonwealth Sevens and Singapore Sevens.

Kenya will face Australia, Spain, Canada in Pool B at the Hong Kong sevens and will later take on New Zealand, Canada, and Zambia during the Common Wealth games

Kenya 7s squad to Hong Kong 7s, Singapore 7s and Commonwealth games

Oscar Ouma (Top Fry Nakuru, Captain), Samuel Oliech (Resolution Impala Saracens), Andrew Amonde (KCB), Willy Ambaka (SportPesa Quins), Daniel

Sikuta (Kabras Sugar), Arthur Owira (KCB), Collins Injera (Mwamba), Eden  Agero (SportPesa Quins), Billy Odhiambo (Mwamba), Jeff Oluoch (Menengai

Cream Homeboyz), Nelson Oyoo (Top Fry Nakuru), Ian Minjire* (Resolution  Impala Saracens), Augustine Lugonzo (Menengai Cream Homeboyz)


Head Coach: Innocent Simiyu

Assistant Coach: Will Webster

Conditional Coach: Geoffrey Kimani

Physio: Lamech Francis Bogonko

Team Manager: Erick Ogweno


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here